Astronomical Tourism
Official Webpage




IPM School of Astronomy

IPM School of astronomy, Tehran

IPM School of astronomy was established in early 2007 to facilitate the growth of observational astronomy and cosmology in a coherent fashion. Over the past few decades the perception of astronomical and cosmological research has been shifted to theoretical astrophysics and cosmology, a consequence of lack of investment in observational facilities and its related technology.

IASBS in Zanjan

The Institute for Advanced Studies in Basic Sciences (IASBS) is an advanced research center in Zanjan, Iran. It was founded in 1991.The goal of establishing IASBS was to provide a leading research-based institute in advanced science topics for both researchers and students in Iran.

IASBS, Zanjan

Torkaman Library

Ferdowsi University of Mashhad (FUM)

The Ferdowsi University of Mashhad is a major comprehensive research university in Mashhad, capital city of the Iranian province of Razavi Khorasan. The university is named after Ferdowsi who is considered to be the national epic poet of Greater Iran, and was born in Tus, near Mashhad. It was established in 1949, making it the third oldest university in Iran.

Main building of Ferdowsi University

The Ferdowsi University of Mashhad strives to be one of the top universities in Iran in terms of scientific developments, developments in the theoretical and technological areas as well as maintaining its Iranian and Islamic identity.

Statue of Ferdowsi

The university tries to train creative, committed, and professional citizens and knowledgeable and capable researchers. The mission is accomplished when the Ferdowsi University of Mashhad can meet the needs of the society and maintain its cultural excellence by utilization of advanced technologies, compliance with international standards, and collaboration with scientific and cultural centers. The Ferdowsi University of Mashhad tries to advance the frontiers of knowledge both nationally and internationally.

University of Tabriz

The University of Tabriz is a public university located in Tabriz, East Azarbaijan with the fundamental aim of creating a center of excellence in higher education and research.

University of Tabriz

The University of Tabriz is the second-oldest university in Iran after the University of Tehran, and has the second largest campus area in the country which is the biggest academic institution in northwest of the country. The university is also a member of the Caucasus University Association.

University of Shiraz

Shiraz University, formerly known as Pahlavi University, is a public university located in Shiraz, Iran. It is both a modern as well as old institution of Higher Education in Iran. Established in 1946, the University has, since then, applied itself to the advancement of knowledge no less than to its dissemination.

University of Shiraz

Shiraz University, formerly known as Pahlavi University, is a public university located in Shiraz, Iran. It is one of the major universities of Iran. Shiraz University has always ranked as Top 5 among Iranian universities and is well respected in Iran.

University of Birjand

The University of Birjand is the largest and oldest public university in the east of Iran. It was founded in 1975. Currently, the University of Birjand includes 14 faculties and colleges. It is now home to more than 12000 students studying in more than 330 graduate and undergraduate programs with more than 360 full time and many other part-time faculty members.

University of Birjand

The university strives to extend and localize modern knowledge and technologies and educate creative and committed experts who consider local, national, and international needs and address the national and international challenges to reach sustainable development.

University of Kerman

Shahid Bahonar University of Kerman (SBUK) is a research institution and university of engineering and science in Iran, offering both undergraduate and postgraduate studies. Located in Kerman province of Iran, the university is among the top ten universities and research institutes in Iran, illustrating its high status in research and education.

Main building of Kerman University

The Shahid Bahonar University of Kerman features several Libraries. There is one main library and also each college has a separate library of its own. The main library of the university is called the Central Library and Documentation Center.

Kerman University Library

University of Zanjan

University of Zanjan (the Ex Higher School for Agriculture & Animal Science) started its activities in 1975, on a formal basis. In December 1975, as ratified by the state council a land (with an area of 400 hectares) was dedicated by the Forestry Organization to University of Zanjan for the purpose of educational as well as developmental and physical activities. On Feb 20, 1976 Zanjan higher school for Agriculture & Animal Science started its work under new title Zanjan Agriculture & Animal Science College while it enhanced its Agriculture & Animal Science Courses to a BS. Level.

University of Zanjan

Nowadays it is one the largest universities of the country with a community of over 10,000 students. At the 2006 census, population of the nearby urban area (Zanjan city which is about 5 km away) was over 400s and the nearby rural area was only 125.

Amirkabir University of Technology

Tehran Polytechnic

Sharif University of Technology

Sharif University of Technology (SUT), is a public research university in Tehran, Iran and is widely considered to be the nation's leading institution for engineering and physical science disciplines. The international campus of the university is located in Kish Island, Persian Gulf.

Sharif University of Technology, Tehran

The main campus of the university is located in the Tarasht neighborhood, near Azadi Square, Tehran, Iran. It is located close to the Azadi Tower, which is the symbol of Tehran and one of the main transportation hubs. The endowment of Sharif University of Technology has been estimated at around $25 million.